Home > Life, etcetera, Sociology > being gender neutral

being gender neutral

Wednesday, 6 December 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

The older I become, the clearer it is to me that we are living in a gendered society, a gendered world. For so many, this gendered world is a formulation of very strict expressions of masculinity and feminity as we have understood it thus far. For others, however, gender is not as static or strict! Gender is something more of a dynamism and fluidity! I cannot help but think of gender as a type of border that we, I, have constructed. I lived a bordered life, don’t I? As I think about borders as it relates to the construction of gender, I cannot help but recall an interaction I had last week! Let me explain.

Last week I attended an open house for a Learning Center here in Chicago. This Learning Center services pre-school aged kids and specializes on the issues of trauma and recovery. So, there I was hob-knobbing w/ the elites and the little ones! I sat down at the table and one of the young kids [a boy-child] asked me the following question: “are you a boy or a girl?” I found myself so excited about this question! Wow! I have the opportunity to use my own agency and autonomous being to answer this question, which for this boy-child seemed very important. My response? “That’s a good question!” I have short hair, which I love! I wear comfortable clothes that aren’t really gender specific! So, what is it about the need to know whether this or that person is a boy or a girl? How does this question relate to our overall angst in our own gender identity?

The rest of this article is located on irobyn dot com

Categories: Life, etcetera, Sociology
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

