Home > Life, etcetera, Society, Sociology > on women’s space: the medium, the message, the blog

on women’s space: the medium, the message, the blog

Tuesday, 12 December 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

I found a blog today as I was scrolling through the “next arrow” which I occasionally do! At time, though, I don’t find much that is interesting or important–mostly folks who have too much to say w/ not much content. Today was different, though! As I was reading the women’s space blog, I was reminded that women have been pushed and prodded to become like men! What do I mean, you ask?! Well, let me explain a bit.

It has been my sense that any sort of agency that women have embodied has been controlled and manipulated by the symbolic order [read masculinity and patriarchy]. I feel pretty stern about this. I have seen women’s bodies, jobs, educational pursuits, written essays, and medical care all manipulated by the masculine symbolic order and patriarchy. And, when reading the women’s space blog, I was surprised to see how another blog [cited as a neo-con blog] charged the women’s space blog as being drab and I suppose boring! So, now the virtual world is being encouraged to become like the dominant? That is, white, upper-class, and male? Even hypertext is subject to sexism! Check out the women’s space blog! The site and the blog are a must read!

Besides, this blog is about re-creating feminist theory and narrative that is critical and engaging! That’s what makes the blog “cool” and appropriate–not the CSS code or color scheme!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

