Home > Life, etcetera, Society > “I love Global Warming!”

“I love Global Warming!”

Sunday, 17 December 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

I am known by my friends as one who meets an array of people, a thoughtful extrovert, and cultural navel-gazer!  Last night was one of those nights when I was out walking the dogs!  I must tell you, though, that though I have cleansed much of my Texan-esque personality, there is a little truth to “you can take the girl out of Texas, but you can never take the Texas out of the girl.”  So, what was it about last night that threw me for a loop?  Let me explain!

After taking my dogs out for their bedtime walk and as I’m making my round back to my building, I run into the owner of the weimaraner dog.  I said “hello” and mentioned something about how the weather is great, since it was something like 45 degrees here in Chicago, IL!  The response I got, you ask?  Let me quote it:  “I LOVE GLOBAL WARMING!”  WHAT?  This took me off guard a bit, I must admit!  The person later explained that she was from Michigan and has been enjoying this warmer weather.

Aside from recommending Al Gore’s An Inconvenient Truth, I walked away wondering if  we really are aware of ourselves and the world around us?  And so, where can we locate the feeling and knowledge of our language and our subsequent actions?  The feeling of “I love Global Warming” in this context is that this person is not fond of the bitter cold Chicago winters.  Does that indicate a love for Global Warming, though?  Or, does this tell me that this person is only concerned about herself and her immediate like or dislike of the weather in Chicago?  I think its probably the latter, really.  So, Why do we say things like “I love Global Warming!” and not skip a beat on the implications of such a statement?

Categories: Life, etcetera, Society
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

