Home > Feminism, Life, etcetera, Society > women making history

women making history

Monday, 26 February 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

One thing you should know about me is that I gather as much data as I can about anything and everything.  The presidential race is no different!  In fact, I am receiving every email and newsletter that every Democratic presidential hopeful [and/or his/her campaign supporters] sends.  I keep up with the Republican presidential hopefuls, too!

My point?  Well, I’m not one to decide early on in political races the person for whom I will vote.  In fact, I go through a rigorous process in determining if I will vote and for whom.  Though still very much in the process of deciding, I cannot pass up the opportunity to bring the voice and vision of ONE woman to the surface of this site.  Hilary’s political power voices, such as Albright here, is one such voice that, for me, humanizes this political race.  I do get the sense that Hilary is seeking to give voice to society over against de-voicing society.   What sense do you get about the letter that Albright sent out to Hilary email subscribers?

I’ll never forget that moment in 1995 when I watched Hillary Clinton stand up in Beijing and declare that “women’s rights are human rights.” In front of the whole world, Hillary spoke out for every woman who suffered from inequality, injustice, and repression. Every person in the hall knew she was making history. Her act of courage still reverberates through women’s lives.

I’ve known Hillary for nearly 20 years. I’ve stood side-by-side with her as she took on the fight for women’s rights at home and abroad, and let me tell you: no one will stand up for all of us as she will. She is the experienced leader this country needs.

Over the years, I have seen Hillary’s deep commitment to improving the lives of women and children. Now it is time for us to show our commitment to her. Will you join me in supporting her campaign’s “One Week, One Million” effort?

Click to Contribute:
http://www.hillaryclinton.com/oneweek

I remember what it was like to be the first woman secretary of state of this country. Have you seen the look in the eyes of young women at Hillary’s campaign rallies? Can you sense the thrill that comes with knowing their first vote in a presidential election could elect America’s first woman president?

And what a remarkable woman we’re putting forward into this historic moment: strong, smart, experienced, and deeply committed to the values you and I share.

The very first day of her presidency, Hillary will transform America’s role in the international community because of the deep admiration she has long enjoyed on the world stage. She will restore the respect that is the foundation of our alliances and the source of our strength.

Don’t let this opportunity pass by. Don’t stand on the sidelines as Hillary walks through the critical early weeks of her amazing journey.

Support Hillary’s “One Week, One Million” campaign right now.

Click to Contribute:
http://www.hillaryclinton.com/oneweek

Thank you so much for acting early to get Hillary’s campaign — and America’s future — moving forward.

Sincerely,

Madeleine Albright

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

