Home > Feminism, Life, etcetera, Society, Theology > why i write…er, blog…

why i write…er, blog…

Saturday, 3 March 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

Why really do I write in the blogging atmosphere?  There are a variety of answers, of course.  Ctontext matters, right?  At least that is what I was taught in Hebrew class. 

Now, I began this post after receiving an email from Lisa Tonna who shared with me her recent diagnosis of Lung Cancer.  Reading her blog begged the question for me of “why do I write?”  In particular, why do I maintain a blog?  Blogging today seems to be THE primarily vehicle of consolidating a variety of sources of information–from politics and religion to world-views, economics, and one’s own personal affairs/views/lives!

For me, there have been several questions regarding why I blog–why the stream-of-consciousness writing partnered or coupled with my attempt to blog in a critical vein?  Why put stuff so public or make public my thoughts and wishes and criticisms?  WHY?  WHY? WHY?  Well…let me make an attempt to answer.

The internet, in my opinion, becomes a resourceful tool for me to situate my thoughts and feelings integrating information and being [subsequently] socialized into a world of information.  Information no longer is privatized when the internet becomes the medium by which information is dissiminated and “fixed.”  While information is never FIXED as in stasis, information does become…and is becoming…accessible.  So, I write so that knowledge and wisdom can be free [liberated], though I attempt to organize my writings in a coherent and accessible way.  While there tends to be a mode of writing that incorporates [privileges?] personal narrative, I seek to integrate critical evaluation and analysis with personal narrative. Additionally, I write to find my own voice in the midst of a very loud, noisy, male dominated world.

And so, this nomad continues to spiral…in her writing!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

