Home > Life, etcetera > thursday updates

thursday updates

Thursday, 26 April 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

It is a rainy day here in Chicago!  I’m up early–5:30 and enjoying some coffee and a nice breakfast.  I have been looking forward to this day for several weeks–26 April 2007–and its finally here.  However, after receiving some news regarding my spouse’s colleague, I am not as elated as I was when I fell asleep last night. 

As many of you know, His Holiness The Dalai Lama is coming to Chicago, and we are attending the required training this afternoon.  My spouse and I couldn’t be happier!  Having spent 15 years in Christian ministry [and earning 2 theology degrees along the way], I am so pleased to be able to contribute to the work of justice and increase interfaith awareness.  While this is very exciting, I must say that my heart is saddened at the news that my spouse’s colleague has metastatic cancer.  His name is Brian, and I have heard great things about this fella.  He is a year older than me [31], and doesn’t live far from us. 

Upon hearing the news, I went into that pastor/priest mode again–its like second nature to me!  I wonder if that will ever leave?  That sense about standing between a god and a member of the human community and seeking to tend to the Divine Presence in that member of the human community.  And so, I find myself sad.  Though I was never assigned to an oncology unit, a fair amount of my patients were cancer patients up in Critical Care.

So, perhaps the rain is appropriate on this Thursday April morning?  The roads here in Chicago are “messy,” according to Chicago’s news, and I learn more and more each day how “messy” life is.  It was messy when I was 16 and had a ruptured brain anuerysm, and its messy now as I enter into the time and space of the unknown with my spouse’s colleague and all the feelings and fear that are wrap up in all of that.

I pray–though difficult and tiring–I pray for peace and love to surround Brian.  This is seen in his loved ones, medical team, and friends and family.  And, I will continue to pray…we continue to strive with one another for the greater good…

Categories: Life, etcetera
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

