Home > Life, etcetera, Society > bike lanes, frustration, and safety: chicago’s spring/summer on the lakefront

bike lanes, frustration, and safety: chicago’s spring/summer on the lakefront

Sunday, 29 April 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

I have just returned from a tiny 13.36 mile ride on the lakefront path.  Typically, I do not enjoy riding on the path due to the many walkers.  Today was no different, but I really, really wanted to check it out.  I headed out at 10:30, and things were great up until I got just south of North Ave. beach.  I was identifying myself, but folks refused to move over.  In fact, at one point, this woman responded to me “room for all!”  Of course, there is enough room for ALL when the bike lanes are used for cycling and the lanes on either side of the bike lanes are used for walking.  There were a couple of times when I almost hit people.  And, folks got mad and yelled at me, but the reality is that I’m afraid folks are going to have to honor the system.  After all, it is for safety.  There is room for all, but please, if you’re on the lakefront path and walking, please move to the side of the path and try to walk one behind another.  If you are a cyclist, notify walkers that you are coming yelling “on your left,” “slowing” [to alert cyclists and walkers behind you], and “stopping” should you need to stop.  There is room for ALL, but we ALL must do our part in honoring the system.

Categories: Life, etcetera, Society
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

